

PRESIDENT: Professor Wolfgang Fennel SECRETARY: Professor Jorma Kuparinen EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: Dr. Edward R. Urban Jr.

Secretariat: College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment Robinson Hall University of Delaware Newark, DE 19716 USA

10 July 2010

Memorandum to: SCOR National Committees

**From:** SCOR Nominating Committee [B. Sundby (Canada), Chair; O Roberto Purini (Italy); Lynne Shannon (South Africa); Mingyuan Zhu (China-Beijing)]

The SCOR Nominating Committee has received the following nominations for the vacancies of SCOR Secretary and three Vice Presidents that arise from normal SCOR officer rotations in 2010:

Secretary (4-year term): 0 nominations

Vice-Presidents (2-year terms): 8 nominations for 3 positions:

- 1. Mary (Missy) Feeley, female, marine geologist (USA) nominated by U.S. SCOR Committee
- 2. Kuh Kim, male, physical oceanographer (Korea) nominated by Korean SCOR Committee
- 3. **Jorma Kuparinen**, male, biological oceanographer (Finland) nominated by Finnish SCOR Committee
- 4. **Marie-Alexandrine Sicre**, female, marine chemist (France) nominated by French SCOR Committee
- 5. **Sun Song**, male, biological oceanographer (China-Beijing) nominated by China-Beijing SCOR Committee
- 6. **Satoru Taguchi**, male, biological oceanographer (Japan) nominated by Japanese SCOR Committee
- 7. **John Volkman**, male, marine biogeochemist (Australia) nominated by Australian SCOR Committee
- 8. **Ilana Wainer**, female, physical oceanographer/climatologist (Brazil) nominated by Brazilian SCOR Committee

The Nominating Committee has considered these nominations (with CVs) by e-mail. We had eight excellent and worthy candidates to consider, each of whom would be a valuable member of the SCOR Executive Committee. For this reason, our selection was not based on scientific merit, but on the need to achieve a balanced disciplinary and geographical representation. The Nominating Committee recommends the following:

# Secretary (4-year term):

Mary (Missy) Feeley, USA

## Vice Presidents (2-year terms):

Satoru Taguchi, Japan, John Volkman, Australia Ilana Wainer. Brazil

### The Executive Committee in 2010-2012 would consist of:

President: Wolfgang Fennel, male, physical oceanography modeler, Germany Past-President: Bjørn Sundby, male, benthic sediment-water chemist, Canada Secretary: Mary (Missy) Feeley, female, marine geologist **Vice-Presidents:** 

Satoru Taguchi, Japan, male, biological oceanographer John Volkman, Australia, male, marine biogeochemist Ilana Wainer, Brazil, female, physical oceanographer/climatologist

## **Ex-officio Members:**

IABO President (Annelies Pierrot-Bults, female, biologist, Netherlands) IAMAS Past-President (Michael MacCrtcken, male, meteorologist, USA) IAPSO President (Lawrence Mysak, male, physical oceanographer, Canada)

### **Co-opted Members:**

Up to two co-opted members can be appointed by the SCOR Executive Committee. The Nominating Committee suggests that the Executive Committee consider using the vacant slot to appoint a co-opted member having expertise in the biology of higher trophic levels.

The slate of officers proposed by the Nominating Committee will be automatically elected on the final day of the SCOR meeting (16 September 2010) unless at least three national SCOR Committees call for a vote at the meeting by two weeks before the beginning of the meeting (i.e., 30 August 2010).